ENTER.
2005-10-20 : 12:46 a.m.

Well like every new job I've had since starting this diary (adding up to a total of two), I usually throw out a couple of entries about it. From which, those of you who read my diary can tell whether or not I enjoy said "new job." Last time I don't think it was that hard to tell given Example A. What I promise not to do though is to turn every other entry into one about my new source of income. What I will do today, however, is discuss the topic of register training and its obvious effect on the trainer and trainee.

It's my belief that you can only make a mistake so many times before it comes back to bite you in the ass. Good thing we were only training, otherwise I'm fairly certain JC Penney would have lost a couple hundred of dollars. I think I should have mentioned earlier that I was not training alone, and was with three other new Customer Service Associates (In Training). Anyway, most people who have worked retail know anytime you make a transaction you have to enter your ID# and (here's the tricky part) hit ENTER. You can only take hearing the following from your trainer so many times:

"You need to hit ENTER." "Oh, gotta hit ENTER." "Did you hit ENTER?" "Hit ENTER again." "I've got a word I want you to remember, it's called ENTER."

Ok, so that last one wasn't really said, but it should have been. This lady was the nicest person you could meet, but obviously did not have enough computer skills to even use a scientific calculator. A scientific calculator, mind you. I'm sure she'd have no problem with a regular calculator, but I thought it necessary to differentiate between the two. I'm the most patient of patient people you will probably ever meet, but I'm very glad I won't be working in the same department as her. I foresee too many questions in one shift for one other person to handle. My sympathies go out to the person fortunate enough to be her first floor partner.

So the new job is 2/2. That's a good start, let's hope it keeps me happy. Now, who wants to go with me to Red Lobster and get some Endless Shrimp� before it's gone again?

MUSIC: Foo Fighters - Resolve


PREV : HOME : NEXT