When They Play It So Well.
2004-02-17 : 12:31 a.m.

I don't listen to the radio often. In fact, I avoid it at all costs most of the time. Radio is dead. Yet every now and then there comes a song that even I admit gets played because, well, it's a good song. And sometimes, that's right sometimes I might even go as far as to buy the CD which contains the song.

So yeah, I'm not always the music elitist I appear to be. You want elitists, go to the Deep Elm Forum. Those bastards always have something to say. But anyway, I do have a point to all of this. I was listening to a song tonight which has been played on the radio before, just not very recently.

There are some songs which become popular because they have famous people who sing them and the money to back them, and some songs which become popular because they're sincere and well written songs. The ability of a single song to completely relate to how you feel at a certain time is just outstanding. And I'm not talking about a kind of song which could apply to anyone. I'm talking about the ones that are so close it honestly scares you. Take for example this entry. It contains lyrics to Third Eye Blind's song Blinded, perfect match for my emotions at the time.

The song I heard tonight I had heard before, but never really paid attention to. It's just one of those songs that makes you shut up and listen. Wonderful, absolutely wonderful.

MUSIC: Again With The Roommate Sleeping



PREV : HOME : NEXT