Out Of The Vein.
2003-05-14 : 1:50 a.m.

It's funny (or sad, take your pick) I prepare myself for writing another action-packed entry by first going to the bathroom. It's definitely a sign that way too much thought is often put into these entries. Actually, I do believe not enough thought is put into these entries. Holy shit I'm rambling, nevermind.

So yeah this whole "Not Doing Glassmen Issue" is starting to bug me. This can be easily taken care of because, there is no issue. Have I been giving thought to not marching this summer? Of course I have. I think spending this summer at home with my friends would rule. I missed them all last summer, and something tells me this summer is going to (in one word) rule.

However, I would also miss my friends in Glassmen a whole, whole lot. That, and I would lose $750, not to mention the respect of so many people who really cherish and love what they are doing.

So, is my heart in it? Absolutely. Just because I feel like staying home and being lazy doesn't mean I don't like what I'm doing. It's what I'm good at, therefore I'm going to put it in your face and make you swallow.

Now that that's taken care of, let's move on to more important things.

My lack of intelligence is often quite astounding. However, lack of intelligence (and not necessarily my own) is often mistaken for a lack of emotion, mostly caring. And when this happens, watch out, because we all know all hell breaks loose.

My point is, never assume what someone is thinking, and never try jump to conclusions about why a person does or doesn't do something. That just pisses people off, and embarrasses the both of you (everyone).

Something I've always hated doing is have to "explain myself." Kiss my ass. Explain what? Half, ok, most of the time I don't even know why I may have acted the way I did. Then I'm always forced to answer "I don't know." Which is never acceptable because, one: it just makes whoever asked that more furious than before and two: it leads them to their own conclusions which (as we discussed earlier) fucks everything else up.

I thought I wasn't going to say fuck anymore? Fuck it, it's my fucking diary. Hahahahaha.

Where did all of this come from?

Anyway, now for the moment you've all been waiting for, the new Third Eye Blind Album is out, and here's my review.

You can tell they've had this album in mind for quite some time. The songs on this CD give me the impression that the band was thinking of something in-between the creation of their last two albums. The lyrics have the same melancholy sadness with that dash of hope hidden by the happiness in Stephen Jenkins' voice as the last albums had. The music itself is something I'm still trying to figure out. Every once in a while I'll catch something I like. A hard drum section, a guitar riff in the background that gets my head bobbing, or a total rock-out section that gets my fist pumping and my hand in that oh-so-familiar metal sign. But don't get me wrong, the music is still good enough to have the average Third Eye Blind fan in total agreement.

Overall, the lryics are just amazing. That's the best way to describe them, and the music does a wonderful job of accompanying them most of the time. If you're not careful they may catch you off guard and before you realize it you'll be listening to a whole'nother song. Which can be good or bad, you decide. And that's what I love about this band, they make you listen.

This album will make my summer.

Just an old friend coming over now to visit you - and that's what I've become
I let myself in though I know I'm not supposed to - but I never know when I'm done
And I see you fogging up the mirror
Vapor round your body glistens in the shower
And I want to stay right here and go down on you for an hour - or stay and just let the day just fade away
In wild dedication, take the moment of hope
And let it run and never look back at all the damage we have done now to each other

Cause, when I see you it's like I'm staring down the sun
And I'm blinded
There's nothing left to do
Still I see you

I never believed that things they happen for a reason and they never go as planned
I wanted to thank you for a vision that was lost that you returned but you're passed where you understand

Now her appetite is blown, little else is known - except she's a little angry, grabs a towel and looks away
And heat fades with the day
And I fall down on what to say
Oh something clean let me be clever
Hey oh well whatever
But that's not what I mean

When where we've been has left us burned
Still I won't turn now from a fight you know I'll never win

So when I see you, you know all the things I've done
Well I'm blinded
Like I'm staring down the sun
When I see you
It's like I'm staring down the sun

Time passes and it tells us what we're left with
We become the things we do
Me I'm a fool, spent from defiance, yeah you got me but - I didn't give up on you

Icarus is not a tee shirt or a swan song, no
He is born again and it's not easy being me
But I can't promise I will mend or bend
When you believe that we are fixed now from our birth
And I've just fallen back to Earth

Cause I believe that we are lucky
We are golden we have stolen manners
In the days when we were one

So when I see you, despite all that we've become
I'm still blinded
But I'm still staring down the sun
When I see you
I'm blinded

MUSIC: Third Eye Blind - Blinded



PREV : HOME : NEXT