My Year, In A Nutshell.
2003-12-31 : 3:30 a.m.

It's 3:30 in the morning, which means not only am I once again certain that I am an insomniac, but that also means today is the 31st of December, the last day of the year 2003. Now, a lot of people (myself included) always try to see the good things and make the most out of that, the glass is "half full," if you will. However, looking back at the year 2003 I see nothing good. In order to better convince you of this years bitter shittiness towards me, I give you the following.

Let's start way back on January 1, 2003. For the second year in a row I am stuck in Arizona for New Year's eve. I spend my evening for the second time, on my butt, watching movies, unable to partake in New Year's festivities with my friends back home.

Now let's jump forward about a month and a half to February 14-16, 2003. Not only to The Glassmen decide to have their February camp on one of the most holiest of holidays (according to the gospel that is love & women) but Mother Nature (that dirty cunt) decides she'll throw in one hell of a blizzard making the trek to and from Toledo hazardous. And, hazardous it was, as evident by my lack of car now, which was destroyed then.

March, somewhere in there. My roommate gets a new boyfriend (yes, boyfriend). Great, grand, wonderful, good for him, right? Wrong. Sure this means that he goes to bed earlier and doesn't stay up till three in the morning (yeah, look who's talking right? But this was different then, I needed sleep) blasting his Disney Songs at full volume, but it also means he and his boyfriend try to pretend they're going to sleep so that I have to. The key word here is "pretend." It's fucking rude enough to mess around with someone in the room when they're conscious, bastards...

April 2003, somewhere slightly before and/or around the fifteenth. I know something is up, I'm not completely stupid. I spend the entire month wondering just what in the Hell is going on. One year was just so awesome.

May 4, 2003. And of course, I just had to be right. After over just slightly a year the love of my life breaks up with me. Now, if that's not a shitty thing to happen, well...The rest of the month is me pretty much being an over-emotional fuck. Then tour comes.

From about the tail end of May all the way till August 12 I am engaged in a day-to-day, 12 hour long activity which leaves me broken, tired, and wanting more. It's an odd thing really. I love it, I hate it, I love to hate it, I hate to love it. In the end we were all left broken. The Glassmen end up placing 14 at DCI Semifinals, not finals, having placed 8th and 5th the two years previous respectively. All the meanwhile I'm struggling to make sense of just what the fuck is going on between myself and her as we both periodically rendezvous at certain shows. In the end I come home sore, tired, angry, confused, darker!, and alone.

Now comes September. The profession in which I have chosed is becoming less and less ideal to me. The number of idiots who woke up (sobered up) and decided that they might need a real job after high school so they should "just become a histor teacher" appears to be on the rise. This of course makes it harder for individuals like myself, who have always wanted said career, to continue with such a profession. Way to stifle my future, asses.

October...yeah what the Hell ever October. My first real chance at a relationship after Caitlin, and I ruin it by doing things which I know are dumb and I know I shouldn't be doing. Alas, I am not the smartest man to have walked this Earth.

November, around Thanksgiving Break. Remember this loveley little story...?

"A father tells his son his mother (the father's mother) wants him to fly out to New York for Thanksgiving. He asks his son if he wants to go and if that would be alright. The sun agrees and thinks that would be a wonderful idea. Then, a week before Thanksgiving, he tells the son he has to drive him to the airport to catch his flight for New York. The son is not going with him apparently. The son wonders what he will be doing for Thanksgiving at this point, to which the dad asks, "So what are you going to do for Thanksgiving?" From here on you pretty much get the idea. Oh sure he said I could stop by one of his friends houses, a total stranger to me basically, for some food. Nice. My father is an idiot."

December. December was probably the kindest month to me. The only thing i could think of is the final I had on a Saturday before break. But, the company I was with could not have been better. December has actually given me hope for the year to come. Well, it and of course her.

So there you have it, there's my 2003. If you think I've neglected to put something positive in here that I should have put, bite me. You're fucking lucky I'm one HELL of a resiliant person 2003, you bitch. So to you I say FUCK YOU! FUCKER! So long 2003! Hello 2004!

MUSIC: Coldplay - Warning Sign



PREV : HOME : NEXT