Have A Holly Jolly Everything.
2003-12-28 : 12:32 a.m.

Friends, Romans, Countrymen...Another Christmas has passed and a new year is upon us. I hope everyone got what they wanted, if not, I hope you got at least one thing on your holiday wish list, I know I have had plenty of Holidays as such. My personal favorite was when I received coloring books...two years ago.

Well, at least I get to spend Christmas in Arizona. That's good for several reasons, not just because of the glorious (71 degree) weather. Christmas just feels proper here, it's hard to explain really. I've only spent one Christmas away from here I believe, and it wasn't that great. Also, I have this insatiable appetite for Jack in the Box tacos, and seeing as how there's one at 59th avenue and Thomas - my mother of course living on 61st and Osborn (that means it's really close) - my desire for those greasy, golden, heart-killing, gifts from above are just a quick two minute drive away. But it's not about the tacos, honest.

This was certainly the year for DVD's. Aside from the 10 Kung-Fu movies my Uncle's letting me "borrow" until my mother comes to visit in January (upon which she will return home with - he's never getting those back) a very odd thing occurred upon receiving his gift to me. This is going to be interesting, keep reading.

I unwrapped his present, and to my delight it happened to be one of the (many) DVD's on my list, Lock Stock And Two Smoking Barrels. Now, upon opening my next gift which was from my Aunt Sandra I was surprised to find the exact same movie. The level of communication in my family is outstanding. But wait, it gets better. Upon noticing this my Uncle asked if I wanted to trade one of the movies for a copy of Super Troopers which he had gotten. Seeing as how I did have two of the same movie, I agreed. Although, I didn't know why he wanted to give up one of his movies until I noticed he too had the same bluner befall him. You see, he held in his hand two copies of his movie. Apparently one was from my cousin Molly, and the other was from (surprise, surprise) my Aunt Sandra. Christmas here is always a spectacle.

Wait a tic, I just remembered I still have more presents at home, splendid. I am a greedy bastard aren't I? Wait, no I'm not, I know I'm not. Because all I can think about is what I'm going to get her. Damn you, you un-original brain of mine!

Phoenix may be two hours behind Greenfield and/or Muncie, but that doesn't mean I'm still on Indiana time. It's still considered "late" here too. Therefore, I'm going to go watch T.V. for a couple of hours then go to bed. I've also got to get up early and meet Flo at the train station.

MUSIC: Dashboard Confessional - Several Ways To Die Trying



PREV : HOME : NEXT