No, I'm Not Kidding.
2003-02-16 : 9:00 p.m.

Well well well, what a weekend.

I now hate snow more than ever. Why you ask? Because it has totalled my car. That's right, no joke. I, Steven Warren, was in a car wreck about an hour and a half ago. Here are the details.

So I'm about 10 minutes from my dorm on 332. The weather was, as it was for most of the weekend, shitty. I was in the right lane, going somewhere around 30 m.p.h. Then all of a sudden there comes this big pile of snow in the road which of course I don't see because I'm driving a 99 Sunfire with p.o.s. lights, but anyway. I then find myself swerving towards the right side of the road, I try to (gently mind you) steer the car back towards the left. I succeed somewhat, but then, BLAMO! Hey, it's a good word. The car spins out of control, does a complete flip in the air (probably several) and lands on the other side of the ditch (which was about 4 feet wide by 4 feet deep).

My first reaction, "Fuck!"

I checked to see if everything was where it should be (on my person, it was) and if I was bleeding, I was not. Then I checked out the car.

Again, "Fuck!"

The front was alright, somewhat, but the back was almost completely squashed in. My first instict was to actually see if I could get my Euphonium out of my trunk. Yes, even in times of peril, music is the first thing on my mind. Band geek to my grave.

Luckily two guys had seen the wreck and pulled over to help me out. After the "Are you ok...need any help?" bit the sherriff showed up and asked, what I guess would be, the general questions. Since I was alright I decided not to have an ambulance come pick me up. I even asked the guy who helped me out if I was in shock because for all I know I could have had a metal rod protruding from my head.

The guy (Daniel was his name) asked if there was anyone I could call for a ride but since the closest person was my dad (because I couldn't find my cell phone to get the numbers for other people, I eventually found it in the back seat, it had been in the front compartment) he offered to take me back to my dorm, euphonium and all. Damn fine fellow. He says I flipped a whole lotta times. Honestly I couldn't tell you. It was a hell of a trip though.

So now I'm here. And I see the same thing happened to an acquaintance of mine as well. However they went one way, I went the other. The rest is history.

I think I covered it all. If there's anything I left out, feel free to ask.

Again, this is not a joke.

I'm going to rest now. I'm not entirely sure if I'm feeling pain because of the accident, or it's just the usual amount of pain that comes from my weekends in Toledo.

What a weekend indeed.

Have a lovely evening.

MUSIC: Silence.



PREV : HOME : NEXT