And God Said, "Enough With The Fucking Light."
2005-01-14 : 2:42 a.m.

First of all, ESPN NHL 2K5 rocks my world (and yours) and is definitely deserving of being called the best hockey game out there, period. Now on to other even less important items...

January fifth was quite an interesting day for many residents of Delaware County. In fact, it was quite an interesting day for all the residents of Delaware County. To help explain this a little bit more, I shall give you the events of my day, that day.

When I awoke that morning it was 10:00 a.m. and my house had power. I went into work at around 11:00 a.m. but had nothing to do so I returned home at 12:00 p.m. and found my house without power. Therefore, my roommate and I sat around with our thumbs up our butts (not each others) until the power came back on at 3:00 p.m. I then started to play the aforementioned video game (for the first time) until the power went out for a split second, then came right back on, pissing me off just a little. Then I had to go to work.

Now, everyone knows that the world is full of stupid drivers (minus yourself, when driving) who only get stupider when the traffic lights don't work. Twas' the case on my way to work. No lights and/or power all the way to work. I grew eager at the thought of not having to engage myself in the oh-so-divine task of dishwashing. But as I approached The Lob. and saw that she was still afloat (get it?) I knew all hope was lost.

Of course I again found myself with nothing to do. The weather was atrocious and nobody in their right mind would want to leave the safety of their home. So an hour into work the power goes off for about thirty seconds, then comes back on. It does the same thing about an hour later. Only this time, the entire population of Muncie (or at least those without power) decided to show up. Seems like our counterparts across the street (Olive Garden, Texas Roadhouse) decided to play it safe and close shop.

Ever see a restaurant try to function on a Saturday night with a Wednesday crew? Mass hysteria. Oh, then the power went out for good, mass hysteria times four. So the candles were lit, the last bit of food was taken out, the old-fashioned credit card copier was dusted off, and the dishes were washed by hand. Oh, yes.

I had to give one of my co-workers a ride home through downtown Muncie which oddly enough still had power. We then passed through one neighborhood without, then to his with. On my way home it was the same thing, one with power, another without, one with, etc...all the way to my house which was of course, without. But wait, there's more. Where I normally park my car laid an enormous branch befallen from the tree next to where I park my car, the only time I was ever glad to be working. In front of the house lay two branches where Amanda parks her car. I parked in front of the neighbors.

Inside I lit a few candles and started to eat the ice cream before it melted and drink my beer before it too went bad. I called several of my Muncie friends to see if they still had power, and to my surprise Matt and Chad both did, so I went over there. On my way it was the same thing, one neighborhood without power, the other with, without, with, you get it. Twenty minutes after arriving, their power goes out.

Matt and Chad live in an apartment from which you can see just about the entire city. So we watched the darkness spread, as each flash of greenish blue light erupted in the night sky, which of course were transistors blowing up. The only area which seemed to still be with power was campus, its lights glowed like a last bastion of hope for the city. Another flash of green and blue, and the whole of Muncie was dark. Actually, it was almost the entire county, not just Muncie that didn't have any power.

A state of emergency was declared for the county, and they (whoever the Hell "they" are) estimated that 90% of residents would be with power by Monday the tenth. Yes, only 90%, and it was Wednesday the 5th when this began. Several people were still without power when classes started back up, how wonderful. Needless to say I didn't have to go into work last Thursday. I can't wait to get my pictures developed and show them all to you.

Ryan Miller, where was your warning Mr. Weather Man? Where was your warning...?

p.s.
I had a BD camp this past weekend and my last day at The Lob was today. Oh and also, I have a plane leaving for CA in four and a half hours which I have yet to pack for. Take care until I return.

MUSIC: Coheed And Cambria - A Favor House Atlantic


PREV : HOME : NEXT