Two Thousand And Five, Day One.
2005-01-03 : 2:37 a.m.

January first I put in my two weeks notice at work. There comes a point when enough is enough, and for me enough came when I was still at work on New Year's Eve cleaning up shit one of my fellow employees had left on the bathroom floor.

The respect I get at work is almost non-existant at times. They make sure to call the job title Utility, and not dish, because they expect you to do a lot more than simply wash dishes. What it basically means is you're the bitch of the restaurant, and get treated as such. You do everything from clean vomit up from the parking lot, to cleaning shit up off the floor in the men's room. Oh yes, you do it all when you work at Red Lobster.

But it's really not about the lack of respect shown to utility people, it's the lack of respect and overall animosity each person who works in that restaurant shows to each other. Yes I'm tired of cleaning up other people's messes, and yes I'm tired of being the last person to leave the restaurant at an average time of 12:00 a.m. Hell, I'm just sick of the fucking job period. But you can only take so much when you're at the bottom of the food chain.

I don't like being a quitter, and I know you'll have to deal with shitty people not matter where you work, but like I said, enough is enough. I don't need this job, I need a job, but not this one.

My general manager looked like she was about to cry when I told her, like I was breaking up with her. None of the managers want me to leave and they all had little personal one-on-one talks with me about leaving. Truth is I'm a damn good worker and a damn fine crew member, and they know it. The entire crew was talking about it (the shit) when I came in today. Everyone who heard about me quitting said they would have done the same, some even wondered why I stayed as long as I did when I had to put up with as much as I did. And you know, Besides Matt, I'm the only utility person to actually give the managers a two week notice, everyone else just quits outright or leaves while on the job.

There are so many things I want to say about leaving but I can't seem to find any good way of putting them into a coherent thought. I am going to miss some people (Brittney, Jumbo, Becca, Nick, Mark, Jason, Andy, Bob), and hopefully they'll miss me. I can't wait for my last day though, it'll be nice, real nice. Now where to find a new job...

MUSIC: Camber - Sad One


PREV : HOME : NEXT