A Grand Folly.
2004-12-01 : 1:35 a.m.

I sit now at my desk, back in my house, in my comfortable chair, in Muncie, Indiana. I'm simply staring at my computer screen blowing spit bubbles because it's all I care to do at the moment. Oh you know, the kind of spit bubbles you would always make as a kid. The kind you so desperately tried to close off with your mouth before they popped, hoping in vain that you could accomplish this trick of spit mastery before the bubble burst. But you didn't come here to here me ramble about spit bubbles, that's simply what I've been reduced to and felt like sharing with the rest of you. I woke up in California yesterday, that's what I'm here to tell you.

Well there's more to it than a simple trip actually. It actually involves the days prior to and after to tell you the truth. Shit, here:

Worked MTW (back home to Chuck's for Thanksgiving since dad once again decided to go to NY without me, yes again) and Friday. Got off work Friday night, packed, went to Wal Mart for needed items, drove home, packed some more, went to bed at 2:30. Got up at 5:30, went to the airport, first plane was late, layover in Vegas was late, layover in Ontario (that wasn't originally scheduled) was late, arrived in Oakland late. My luggage didn't arrive at all, no seriously.

Banquet: The only things I wore that I didn't buy that day were my shoes and pants. Had to withdraw the last of my cash because my checkbook was in my suitcase to pay for dinner. Saw good friends there, but not enough, more people there I didn't care about than were ones I did. Didn't party afterwards because I'd gotten three hours of sleep, the party was an hour away, I didn't have a way of getting there or back, I had no clothes, the hotel was already charging me for that night, and my vodka was in my suitcase.

Walnut Creek's shopping district is a ridiculous collection of Starbuck's on every corner, twelve Japanese Sushi bars but no Chinese Buffet, square of crap, full of shops resembling oversized versions of those booths you see in the middle of malls, cheap malls. I spent $160 on music.

If I go to San Francisco again it won't be to Pier 39. Everything is aimed at Tourists. The aquarium was cool. I touched a ray. Every shop was run by Orientals. Every shop...I bought two shot glasses and blew five bucks at the arcade. I think our (Kevin, Brian, Eric, Me) taxi driver was about to stab us with his hobo knife. I met a crackhead, born from the bricks at the Bart Station, named Alexander.

Went to bed at 1:00, got up at 4:30. Checked out, the hotel wasn't worth $200. Went to airpot, planes got messed up. Left at 1:30 on a flight originally scheduled for 12:50, I was supposed to leave at 7:00. Got to Kansas City late, left Kansas City late, got home later. Paid sixty dollars for a limo ride home. Dad didn't feel like coming to get me, and no shuttle services were running, fuck taxis. Drove back to Muncie. My boss left a message saying I was supposed to work, I think I was somewhere over Oklahoma when my shift started, that's another story.

My dad has to have major surgery on his back.

My throat hurts like Hell, and I may have strep.

California was cold.

The weather here is colder, and wetter.

Don't fly Southwest Airlines.

At least I have pictures...even of the crackhead.

p.s.

My diary turned three two days ago. Wish it a Happy Birthday, or I'll fucking kill you.

MUSIC: Snow Patrol - Run


PREV : HOME : NEXT