Consumer Economics VS. A Dismal Three Quarters.
2004-09-27 : 10:14 p.m.

So another week has come and gone. It really seems like only yesterday when school started. I know that gets said a lot, but time really does feel like it's flying by this year. A lot of things can happen in a short amount of time. Take for example, this past week.

Wednesday I officially started working at Red Lobster. It's not the most glamerous job in the world, but the work is easy enough. I pretty much learned everything I needed to know the first night on the job. It keeps you busy. Sometimes too busy though. Friday night I didn't clock out until 1:15, not cool. But I got in 30 hours this week so my paycheck should look pretty nice on Friday.

I got a new credit card as well. My first credit card actually. It's about damn time too. Everyone else I know seems to have gotten one years ago. I suppose I just never thought about seriously getting one till now. Well that, and I knew if I got one in my younger years I wouldn't know how to use it and would subsequently pile on the debt. Not that I probably won't do that now though...

I purchased a new chair for my computer desk. It's big, it's leather, it's comfortable, and it feels good when you sit in it naked. Actually, I haven't gotten around to testing out that last one. But I know it feels good when I sit in it clothed, so no clothes should make it feel twice as comfortable.

I also purchased a printer. I'm sorry I take that back, I purchased a printer and scanner in one! Who's a savvy consumer whore? This guy, right here. No more going to the library to print things off or having them copied for me, no sir.

And now for some more pertinant news, I got a new cell phone. My old one was, well, old really. It was big, it didn't work half the time, and I was constantly reminded of just how old and big it was, not to mention how much it didn't work. Now I have a new one, not so big and old. To go with this new phone I have a new number, which you should all enter into your phones post-haste. The number is:

317-966-8673

Now you have it, so there's no excuses.

Aside from all of these trivial events of the past week, there was one which was of some importance. There's no hiding it anymore, Marie and I are no longer, for reasons of my own which will someday be known to you, after I get them logically figured out myself. But that's not what happened this past week, that happened several weeks ago. What happened was an ill-conceived phone call due to a high level of intoxication which led to a conversation online which I could have done without. How about I stop pussy-footing around and just tell you what happened?

I called Marie in a drunken stupor, and it was the first time I had spoken to her since the break-up. I admit, with no hesitation, that it was a selfish and stupid thing to do given my condition and time of day (4-ish-in the morning). It was a bad move on my part and I apologized when she began a conversation with me online about it the next day.

What I expected was a harsh tongue lashing, well as harsh as IM can give you, or something of the like. What I got was that, and a lot more. I sat at my desk, accepting what I thought I deserved, until something was said that I couldn't ignore. And I quote:

It doesnt seem right that after we broke up, the only thing i could think was "i wasted 8 months" not "i miss him" or "but i love him so much", none of that, just "i wasted 8 months."

That's right, I kept part of the conversation. Call me an asshole or anything else you want for making that public like it's anybody's business, but I felt the need to share it. I may deserve a lot of name calling and bashing, but I don't think I deserve to be accused of "wasting" someone's life. I do believe that's one of the most hated things I've ever had said to me. I forget what was said after that because I pretty much kept going back to that. And don't you think eight months is a long time to figure this out?

The more I think about this, the more it hurts my head, so I'm going to stop now and go to bed. I know I promised more pictures and I'll have them up as soon as possible, promise, again. For now, goodnight.

MUSIC: Death Cab For Cutie - Title And Registration (or)
Death Cab For Cutie - Tiny Vessels


PREV : HOME : NEXT