This Is Random, Indeed.
2004-04-28 : 8:09 p.m.

Every once in awhile, life will send something your way wholly unbelievable. And once in awhile that thing will be something you've wanted for a long time, but never really expected it to happen. You question these things, but then you come to realize some things really are just better left alone. I suppose I should explain this all and skip the bullshit. With that said, this summer I will be marching with the Blue Devils Drum & Bugle Corps from Concord, California.

Yeah, I'm just as surprised as you are. I'll get to how this all happened in just a second, but right now I want to inform you all of how this is something I've only dreamed of. Never did I think that I would get the chance to be a part of something so extraordinary. I know that sounds so clich� and all, but it's the truth. I first saw The Blue Devils as a Freshman in high school, it was their 1999 show, which they won the gold medal for. It was the first impression I ever got of Drum Corps, and I loved it. They instantly became my favorite.

I had actually never given any real thought as to actually marching with a Drum Corps until that fateful day when a few of my friends said they were going to go try out for The Glassmen out of Toledo, Ohio. Five of us went, I stayed, and then came back for another year. The past two summers I've spent with some of the most talented and amazing people ever. This summer I had opted to stay home, for several reasons (mostly for making money). That my friends is where this story begins.

Four weeks ago, March 27 to be exact, I received a phone call from my friend Scott Whitford who had marched with me at Glassmen for the past two years. Scott had decided to try his luck with the Blue Devils and had made it. In this phone call Scott informed me that they were in need of a euphonium player to fill a hole. A once in a lifetime opportuniy, and it was mine for the taking. And take it I would. That is how I managed to find myself in California this past weekend, sweating it out with the best Drum Corps in the world, The Concord Blue Devils.

And I actually hesitated before I made my decision. I actually hesitated about passing up an opportunity to do something other people (myself included) only dream of. I'm glad I made the decision I did. This in no way reflects any feelings of mine towards The Glassmen. Keep in mind, I wasn't there in November, or December, January, February, or March...remember how life likes to bend wherever it is you think your straight line goes?

I now find myself in a world of disbelief. I'm sure it will pass though, sometime in early August...

p.s.
Yes I know this is now my 400th entry, well aware actually. This news just couldn't be passed up. I promise a 400th worthy entry soon my friends.

MUSIC: Modest Mouse - The Stars Are Projectors



PREV : HOME : NEXT