Another Fork.
2004-01-20 : 2:39 a.m.

So I've done everything but make it official, I'm going to change my major. I came to this decision when dealing with a number of circumstances, the first being the amount of time I would have to spend in school. That comes to a total of five years, plus student teaching (and if you didn't know by now, I'm a Social Studies Education Major). I also came to the conclusion that I wouldn't be making the amount of money that I would wish to make, and if you're going into education for the money, you're going into the wrong field my friend.

As to what I might change my major to has been somewhat difficult as well. At first I was set on changing it to Anthropology with a minor in Marketing, but then I thought of a Psychology major with a minor in Marketing. Now I know those two subjects are quite different than Social Studies education, but let me explain. Also, this might help you better understand what I would do with each respecting major.

As an Anthropologist major I would concentrate more with Corporate Anthropology. That means I would work with a company's marketing sector (that's where the Marketing minor comes in) to help them better understand their target demographic, or the people they are trying to sell their product to. What I would do is I would conduct research for them and do ethnographies on the population. I'd basically find out what teenagers/pre-teens think is "hip" or "cool" and I'd exploit them for their money. I have no qualms taking money from a generation with an increasing disposable income.

Now, if I were a psychology major my job would be a little different. If I pursued a degree in psychology (with a minor in marketing) I would focus on industrial psychology. I haven't done quite as much research with this one but I'm fairly certain what I would do is this: I would be like The Bob's from Office Space/A guidance counselor/A detective. I would seek out and find problems with people in the company who are decreasing efficiency, help them fix the problem, and get lots of money for doing it.

I do believe I'm going to go with the Anthropology with a minor in Marketing, for a couple of reasons. First off, I would need to acquire a Ph.D. in order to become an Industrial Psychologist, further pro-longing my tenure at school. Second, I think I would like getting an Anthroplogy degree more, and I think I would like my job more. Last but not least, I wouldn't have to take as many classes (for my Bachelors) to get my degree. Oh, if I didn't mention it already, I can change my majors now, graduate by 2006, and have only 12 hours each semester my senior year. I would have to go eighteen credits each semester for Soc. Education, and still have to do my student teaching.

Whatever makes me happy I suppose...And I do think this will make me happier. I've always been interested in this kind of work. I asked myself before thinking about changing my major, "What would I do if I didn't teach?" Well, this was my answer. Who knows, maybe I'll get a substitute teaching license and do a little of that? Whatever I do though, I know I'll be making the right decision.

MUSIC: Bone Thugs N' Harmony - Crossroads (Yes.)



PREV : HOME : NEXT