I'll Be Here Awhile.
2003-11-10 : 12:41 a.m.

I had fun this weekend, that's turning into a regular occurrance, something that wasn't always a certainty last year. Of course, given the circumstances of last year it's easy to see how I might not have gotten the best "experience" possible out of my first year of college. You see, on the weekends I would usually head home, for obvious reasons. In doing so I had little time to get to know most of the guys who lived in my hall or even my floor. The only contact I usually had was with my roommate, Randy. Randy was a good guy and all, but we just ran with two different crowds. Well anyways that was then, this is now.

This year has (in a word) ruled. It's pretty much a given that there will be someone to hang out with or something to do on Friday and/or Saturday night. I can almost guarantee it's because I choose to stay here on the weekends. What's there to go home to anyway? There is always Brett and Chuck, but who knows if Brett will be hanging out with Lauren and if Chuck will be working or not.

I pretty much know everybody on my floor, excluding those who don't really care to get to know the rest of us. My R.A. Jake is an awesome guy (no offense Ryan, you rule as well), Brandon and Scott are always down for whatever, same thing for Andrew and Jason, I'm living with Joe and Bryan next year (more on that later), Lindsey and Kelli are always there for comical support, the other girls: Kirby, Jen, Val, Jill, jess, and Sarah are always fun to hang out with, it's just an awesome, awesome floor.

We participate in every intramural event on campus, we have the most floor points, we probably have more B.K. (Baker/Klipple-my hall) bucks than any other floor, and most importantly we hang out together on the weekends. Why? Because there isn't anyone else we'd rather hang out with. We're that, cool.

Other than our amazing floor, college is just a lot better (on the weekends) if you don't go home. Regretfully, I have discovered that which makes it so enjoyable. That my friends, is beer. I didn't really have any beer last year. In fact, I had zero beer at school, yeah, I rule. Now I'm not saying you have to get drunk/buzzed/tipsy/whatever to have a good time, not at all. If you think that then you need to grow up, real quick like. However, beer certainly allows a six foot four inch tall white boy add a little bit of rhythm to his dance moves...or what he thinks is rhythm. But yeah, it helps.

Also, I don't have to turn a blind eye towards every girl I see. And yes, I did do that to every girl I saw last year. This left me a little lost when first talking to girls. I still am actually, but I'm getting better. Girls are still as messed up as they used to be, so at least that hasn't changed.

My room is a thousand times better than last years also. The furniture is stackable so I don't have to buy another loft, that's a plus. I have a bathroom and shower which I share with only three other people. Nice, very nice. I have air-conditioning, oh so sweet. This year I have room to attach my stereo to my T.V. for surround sound� purposes and as an added bonus feature I have my Super Nintendo� and my regular Nintendo� for enjoyment purposes. And perhaps the best part about my room this year is its newest addition my new futon. It's so comfortable...Best ninety dollars ever spent. I think I'm going to sleep on it for the rest of the year.

Also, as mentioned before I have just recently signed a lease on a house with Joe, Bryan, and one of their friends Amanda. The house is awesome, and the landlord seems like a cool guy. The only downfall is that we can't have a dog. That's a total bummer, dude.

Anyways the point is (and hopefully you've read this far to get to it) I love it here. Yeah the actual school part can suck it, but it certainly makes up for it on the weekends. I can only imagine how much better next year is going to be when I live off-campus. Oh the possibilities...

And with that my friends I say goodnight. Hopefully I haven't left too many loop-holes in there. If so, bite me, I'm tired.

p.s.

I should have been in New Castle and not losing a dodgeball game.

MUSIC: Thursday - Marches And Maneuvers



PREV : HOME : NEXT