Gone Fishin, Hardly.
2003-10-29 : 1:01 a.m.

I want to go fishing.

I haven't been fishing since....last year I do believe. I love fishing. I've loved it since I could say it. And right about now I could use a nice, long, extended fishing trip to help me relax and regain my focus on pretty much everything right now.

And I'm damn good at fishing too. It must be in the genes. My Father was a good fisherman, and so was his Father. And my grandfather on my Mother's side is pretty decent as well.

When I'm fishing it's like I don't have a care in the world. I wish I could describe it better than that, but there's a reason that phrase is hackneyed, it fits.

I like how I put random two dollar words in there to make me sound intelligent. Hey, I'm not Flo. Anyways...

School isn't hard, it isn't hard at all. Whatever problems I have (i.e. an English essay, a test to study for) are problems that I create for myself. I procrastinate to the point where it becomes a problem, and that's my fault. Like right now for instance, I have a speech to give tomorrow which I've known about since last Wednesday and have yet to start it.

It's 2:00 in the morning.

I don't know why I do this to myself, I really don't. I know my body doesn't enjoy only getting four hours of sleep a night.

Do I have A.D.D.? No seriously, I think I do. I swear to God, it seems like I have all the right symptoms. I get distracted easily, I'm loud, I love audio stimulation (a lot), I squirm in my seat, all of that stuff.

Focus. That's the theme on our floor, focus. I wish I could have a little bit of that.

So anyways, I guess that whole fishing thing was kind of like a metaphor. When I'm fishing I'm in my zone. So if you ever get this -

"What's Steve doing?"

"He's fishing"

- Just know that I'm happy.

I haven't been fishing in a long time.

THE MAN

This is Brian Hickman our corps director, also known as The Man. He's one of the coolest guys you could ask for. I like Brian Hickman, he's good people. And he doesn't seem that short in person, go figure.

TRIO

Left to right are, myself, Fred, and L.C. I don't really like this picturea whole lot...we're all too close to the camera I think.

MARIE, DARLING

This is the lovely Marie who I have mentioned before. I wish I could pictures up of everyone I mention, pictures are a lot louder than words.

p.s. That one word entry that I deleted was in response to me working in the library for four hours on my English paper (not procrastinating, thank you very much) and having the computer turn off right before my eyes, without saving a single, solitary, word. What would your reaction have been?

MUSIC: Coldplay - In My Place



PREV : HOME : NEXT