Hey Coach.
2003-09-02 : 11:55 p.m.

The number of people in my EDPSY 251 class who want to be high school teachers is fantastic. Teaching is definitely an easy job right out of college (regardless of pay). However, the number of Social Studies Secondary Education Majors is ridiculous.

Not a few, not half, but at least 3/4 of them said that's what they wanted to teach. I wouldn't feel so discouraged and overly bitter if it weren't for the fact that these are the kind of people who only chose this as a career the same day they set foot on Ball State's campus. That, or they only picked it because Ball State is the only school they could get into (education and architecture being the two best majors here, and in the state).

My favorite line?

"Uh yeah, I just wanna be a geography teacher or somethin, maybe coach football."

Becoming a teacher is something I'm actually passionate about. It's not something I stumbled onto when I got sobered up and realized I can't fake my way through school anymore. It's truly something I've wanted to do for a long time.

No wonder they stereotype Social Studies Teachers as all coaches nowadays. I suppose I'm the minority. Granted, I could coach something. Maybe swimming or...swimming...Hey, I could always be the Drama Director.

Maybe I should have gone with my second choice, marketing. They do make more money.

Whatever, bastards. It's too damn frustrating to be worrying about now. Maybe next semester when I actually start my real classes. Real classes being those other than core classes. Yeah, next semester. That's only 18 weeks away...

This is an oldy, but a goody. This is the back of the bus 02 crew from Glassmen. From left to right it's: Mullet, Adrianna, Flo, Me, Carolina, Steve, and Cory.

MUSIC: My Roommate's Asleep So The Fan Has My Foot Tapping.



PREV : HOME : NEXT