Not Much, But Neither Am I.
2003-08-26 : 12:08 a.m.

Three days is somewhat of a large span. Well, for myself anyways. For any of you who were anticipating the next entry, I apologize.

Of course, you do realize that this is all fodder, and I'm just trying to take as much time with this as possible so I don't really have to write anything worthwhile.

I don't care to bore you with the details of my day. Because those details are, in a word, boring. I sleep, I awake, I attend class, I eat, I lounge, I eat some more, then I lounge some more.

Actually, today was quite different. Chuck decided he'd venture up North and pay me a visit. I ended up spending my Target� Gift Card and getting my books for class. Chuck ended up with a $10 parking ticket.

Now for something completely different...

Something I noticed this summer was that at the beginning of the season, around move-ins and spring training, I found myself constantly trying to impress people. That's not the kind of person I want to be. Well, that's not the kind of person I picture myself as anyway.

I choose to place myself on the opposite end of that spectrum, as someone who others wish to impress.

What I mean is, I often caught myself wondering if someone on the staff noticed when I did something well. Or, if I'm out performing one of the older vets.

The point is, who the hell cares? Nobody can make me any better but myself. You can not out-do me. You can not beat me. You can not get me to want to be you.

I have my own problems to deal with without having to deal with yours. I have my own house to clean, so-to-speak.

Be your own person. Don't worry what other people do, that's their thing. Be the master of your own fate. Be the captain of your soul.

OUT of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

MUSIC: Interpol - NYC



PREV : HOME : NEXT