Till I See You Again.
2003-05-20 : 10:25 p.m.

I was going to wait until I came home for a brief second on the 25th to write this, but I don't know if I'll have time to do so, or when I'll have access to another computer.

Before I get into anything too important I�d just thought I�d let you all know that this is my 300th diary entry. But wait, a year and a half of Diarylanding and I�ve only got 300 entries to show for it? Well I think the fact that I only have 1 entry for the month of June and a big fat 0 for July may have something to do with that. Hey oh well whatever, but that�s not what I mean. ;)

I do apologize however for not having a multitude of quizzes for you to take, as featured in my 100th entry. Or a big whole lotta� nothin as in my 200th entry.

What I do have however, is an idea for you all to try. Have you ever heard of the game called Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon? For some reason I think Stacey will know what I�m talking about. Anyway, it�s where you try to connect someone famous (or even yourself, heck maybe you are famous) to Kevin Bacon in six steps or less. Take me for example, I�ve got five steps.

I know my mother, who has a patient who worked as a grip on the set of Eye For An Eye with Sally Field, Sally Field was in Forrest Gump with Tom Hanks, and Tom Hanks was in Apollo 13 with Kevin Bacon.

So that�s me to my mother (1), my mother to her patient (2), that patient to Sally Field (3), Sally Field to Tom Hanks (4), and Tom Hanks to Kevin Bacon (5).

Now, if I were good, I would have gone straight from Keifer Sutherland who was also in Eye For An Eye to Kevin Bacon in Flatliners, making my connection in four steps. (Me to my mom (1), mom to her patient (2), patient to Keifer Sutherland (3), Keifer Sutherland to Kevin Bacon (4).

Anyways, I was thinking you could modify this game just a little to make yours truly the center. Try connecting diaries to me. I�ve said I�m responsible for people having these things, so yeah prove me right and play the game, it shouldn�t be that hard.

For example, Jane has a diary because John told her to make one, John has a diary because he read Melissa�s diary, who got one because she saw Sarah had one, who got hers because she saw that I had one.

Get it? Good. Because I�m making entirely too much out of this. But hey, can you play that game with your diary?

Ok, now on to the important stuff�

Well, you didn�t really think I would leave you guys without saying goodbye did you? Oh, sorry, I meant without saying see you later.

Actually, that�s a good point. I remember at this time last year I was all worried if I would get to see any of your lovely faces before I had to leave, or if I would see you before any of you left for school when I came back. I also remember thinking that everything would be different when I got home, and that I wouldn�t know how to adapt to everything. Well yeah, things change, and people change too, change is inevitable. But you just kind of have to go with it. Nothing was so bad to where I couldn�t learn to deal with it, and I don�t think it�ll be like that this time either.

I had so many questions I wanted to ask too. Who�s going to miss me? I wonder if anyone will come see me? I wonder if anyone will write me? Will I be able to do this? Should I go or should I stay? And yeah, you get the point. You know, I was going to put some links to older entries expressing some of these fears, however, they�re all pretty much a lot of random thoughts resembling, mush, I do believe would be the best word to describe them. Yeah, mush. In any case, I don�t really recommend going back and reading them. I don�t even know what I meant.

I think part of these fears came from the fact that I was a senior, and that we�d all be going our separate ways after graduation. Actually, I know these fears came from me being a senior. But in the end the only thing I had to fear was fear itself. Not much had changed at all when I returned. And those things that had changed, they had changed for the better. And like I said, I couldn�t avoid it even if I wanted to. So what I�m saying is I should have smacked myself and told me to stop being such a whiny little emo bitch. Or, just, not have worried so much. Whatever. I still see all my old friends. And what�s even better is that I�ve made a whole bunch more.

If I could take you all with me, you know I would. But you all have your own adventures to take. You all have your own lives to live. These are the choices we make which make us who we are. The funny thing about summer is how it can seem to last a lifetime, and only a split second at the same time. So make the most of it. Take those risks, make your move, if your friends jump off a bridge, make sure you�re the first to do it naked the nest time. Before you know it it�ll be too late. Whatever you do though, do it all the way. Nothing�s worth doing if it�s only going to be half-assed.

I promise when I come back I�ll still be the good man I was when I left. I might be a darker good man, but it�ll still be me. Just promise you�ll be the same person I�ve come to know and love. You can change what you do, just don�t change who you are.

I know I�m spouting quite a bit of hypocrisy here, but I think you understand where I�m coming from.

Just have faith that we will see each other again, because we will.

And even if I don�t hear from you soon, you may just hear from me.

;)

Catch you all on the flip side, see ya� in August.

MUSIC: Third Eye Blind - Crystal Baller



PREV : HOME : NEXT