Those Were Not The Days.
2003-03-08 : 11:35 p.m.

I feel like I'm in high school again.

This is the one thing I hated most during those four years, not having a car. Oh sure, I'll just have my father drive me to where I need to go. Sure, easy for you to say. Here's what getting my father to do this entails...

"Dad, can you take me to Caitlin's?"

(Grumbles...) "Well how are you going to get home?"

"Well is it alright if you pick me up? Not too late or anything."

(More grumbling...) "How late is late?"

"Whatever time you think is time for me to come home."

(Guess what he's doing more of?) "Well I need to know what time.(!)"

"Dad, whatever time, you think, is time for me to come home."

"Well 11 is late."

"Then pick me up sometime before then."

(I hate that damn grumbling noise he makes) "Alright I'll just wait outside at 11."

Now this is the part that I love most. He says 11, but what that really means is he doesn't leave until 11, or 5 minutes after. Just like in high school.

Needless to say I called home at around 11:15 to wake his ass up, get off the couch, and come get me.

"Dad? Are you coming to get me?"

"Yeah yeah I'm on my way."

And he says this like it's my fault for him not being there earlier. Not to mention whenever he picks me up (from anywhere) he always has an attitude like somebody shit in his cornflakes.

I love my dad, but he's just too much of a disgruntled old man sometimes.

I really need a car.

MUSIC: Death Cab For Cutie - 405



PREV : HOME : NEXT