Soapbox.
2003-03-08 : 12:24 a.m.

Alright children, let's not squabble in Steve's guestbook...

A couple of things;

Thank you to this person,
I agree and think tanning is very stupid..why would you want to do it? So I must say kudos to you.

However, if you don't leave a name, it gets deleted. Good thing I decided to use you as an example huh?

Next,
2 things.... 1. You bragged about how much of a darky you were because of drumcorps over the summer. 2. You know the effects of meat on a persons body--increased risk of heart cancer/colon cancer/bacteria....etc...I believe you had an entry about it along with your comments on Goldfinger's "Open Your Eyes" ---and yet you still eat meat, do you not?

So are you calling me a hypocrite? First off, yes, I was damn proud of the tan I got over the summer. But did I stick my ass in a human oven to get it? No. Did I wear sunscreen everyday? Yes. Was it something I could have avoided? No. The negative effects of a tanning bed are three times as bad as those from natural sunlight. But hey, whatever. I can't make anyone stop. Nobody's going to until they realize they have a friendly tumor growing on their hide. Hell, then they'll probably just think it's too late anyway and say "Well if I'm gonna die, I might as well leave a good looking corpse!" Fucking hell......

Now, about the meat eating thing. Hell yes I still eat meat. Serve me up a big Mooby the Golden Calf style burger any day. Do I know the effects meat has on the human body? Yes. Have I tried not eating meat? Yes, and I know there are people out there who can vouch for me on that one. Eating meat is unhealthy, but it's not really something you can quit overnight. Yeah yeah, Aaron "Vegetarians are dumb." Miller. You're saying he went from Omnivore to Vegan overnight, good for him. He himself says it was stupid. Do I think eating meat is wrong? No. Now, do I think the way in which animals scheduled to be slaughtered and then eaten is wrong? Yes, absolutely. It's atrocious and highly unethical the way they treat those animals. But they're not people, and they don't do that for enjoyment. If animals have rights, then why do we have dogs, cats, whatever as pets?

So anyfuckingway, I'm trying to not eat meat. Give it time dammit.

My rant is over.

Becky, when are we leaving for the show?

MUSIC: Godspeed You Black Emperor! - Storm



PREV : HOME : NEXT