So Give In, Or Just Give Up.
2006-01-12 : 10:46 p.m.

So let me tell you where I've been. I've been nowhere important, that's where. Well, mostly. Nowhere important, of course, being any location situated on Ball State's illustrious campus, as well as my house here in Muncie. And JC Penney, JC Penney doesn't count either. Important places that do count include Worthen Arena, and BSU men's volleyball games. However, there's only been one men's volleyball game so far, so therefore, I've only been one place important since my last update. Not cool, I know.

With that being said, I guess it's only proper that I tell you all about my recent shenanigans, as well as the shenanigans of my cohorts as well. All aforementioned shenanigans having taken place in my living room (not important) and in the confines of Worthen Arena (important). They (the shenanigans) involve: high levels of alcohol, Ball State apparel, a couple of wigs, and a megaphone. Oh, I assure you, comedy ensues...

An hour before game time, we began a power hour here at the ElwoodEvansLynchWarren residence, with several other friends also having been invited. If you don't know what a power hour is, then you don't need to know. Basically, we got hammered. Afterwards, we proceeded to head over to Worthen Arena for the first men's volleyball game of the season.

We arrived shortly before the SSB was played, made our presence known very quickly, removed our headgear upon the playing of the SSB, and upon its completion, commenced Operation Volleyball. During the course of the match we: yelled a few things that we shouldn't have, didn't yell a few things that we should have, embarrassed a few of the visiting team's players, embarrassed ourselves, but mostly helped support good ole' BSU.

Two events worth noting happened during this game. The first of which involved me, a megaphone, and Pat Quinn, the Ball State assistant athletic director. My roommate Joe, having yelled "Your Mother's A Whore!" at a previous Ball State match the previous year inspired me to do the same at this game. Well, to be completely honest, it more or less inspired the beer to do the talking, which it did, through a very large megaphone. Well, Pat Quinn, having kept Ball State Athletic events family friendly since 1995 would have nothing of the sort. He promptly yelled at me, "NO MORE PERSONAL SHIT!" I, being fairly (fairly being fair) intoxicated at the time yelled back, "OK!" But Pat was serious, and he said so, seeing as how his next words were "I'M SERIOUS!" Not to be taken lightly, I was quick to respond, "ME TOO!" That was the end of our "conversation."

Now Joe, Joe would not be outdone either, so it would seem. Joe's story is slightly more humorous than my own, but then again, you always "have to be there." At one point in the game, Joe developed the urge to yell "YOU'RE A DUMB SONOFABITCH!" To which the net judge, after having paused the game, turned to him and said, "WATCH YOUR VERBAGE!" So then, after much contemplation and verbage watching, Joe proceeded to ask the judge, "How we doin' ref?" To which the judge responded, "Just use the language you would use in church next to you're mother." Joe gave this a thought, for what was at least a half a second, and then proceeded to yell "PRAISE JESUS!" for the rest of the game.

We were all pleased to find that we had indeed been mentioned in the paper the following day. No photos to prove we were there, just a little blurb saying this:

"That with it being the first game of the season in front of the home crowd there were some jitters," Walton said. The loyal Cardinal fans were pleased to see the season get underway and watch their team win. At one point the net judge turned around and warned the impromptu student section to "watch your verbage."


It can be found here.

Alright, that's enough of a delay. I'm sure all you're interested in is the pictures anyway. Fine, here...

Before things got too out of hand, I, Bryan (already a little out of hand), Joe, and Kyle sported our new gear, supplied by none-other-than Mr. Ken Haney himself.

Joe, having done double shots all night, was the first to go. In no time at all, he was a pterodactyl.

I am the king of white trash. And apparently the strongest as well.

Joe is not only famous for his beautiful red hair; he's also famous for his riverdancing. Bryan and I thought we'd join in.

This...This is Pat Quinn, whom I affectionately dubbed PQ. As you can tell, we kissed and made up, enough to take a picture together anyway. He's a good kisser too, by the way.

MUSIC: Plain White T's - Lazy Day Afternoon