Walk It Off.
2005-09-26 : 10:32 p.m.

A thought occurred to me today, whatever happened to my Sciatica? Not that it's something you can really misplace or anything but, for the record, it hasn't really bothered me since a good portion of tour was over. You all remember all that nonsense, right? If not, you can go back and read all about it. You too can read along and experience all the discomfort that comes with a weakness of the nerve running up and down your spine. Hopefully not though.

Its impact during move-ins was really apparent. The muscle relaxants I was prescribed basically turned my leg muscles to mush, so I couldn't do anything with them for a while other than come in close to last on most runs (when I was usually one of the first the year before, and fall on my heels while backwards marching. I don't know about you, but man it feels great to suck at what you consider what you do best.

After a while I was able to get through chunks pretty easily, but too much repetition and both the legs and back gave out again. The same thing goes for shows. At our first show I actually almost fell over at a halt during the closer because they (my legs) just refused to cooperate. I thought I was good to go until our first rehearsal in Lecco...Let's not discuss that. Kerkrade, the same thing. It was just as if my legs had no power in them whatsoever. I wasn't coming in close to last on our runs anymore, but I was still getting passed by people I knew I could beat.

I finally started to see some improvement when we got back to the states. Yes, it took that long. Try not having any power in your legs and then doing drum corps, jerk. On some of the longer runs in Dallas and later in New Jersey I was finally able to run closer to the front of the pack. I was also able to count the number of times my heels touched the ground in rehearsal. But (unfortunately) it really wasn't until Finals week until I felt my backwards technique was back up to standards. By then I was only concerned with the in-grown toenail that had doubled the size of my toe anyway.

I didn't really like talking about it with anyone during the season, unless asked. I really didn't like making excuses, no matter how "legit" they might have been. I knew I'd eventually get over it, but I didn't know it would take practically the entire summer to do so.

So with any luck this thing is gone and will never show up again. When I go running now after coming back home my legs don't lock up at all like they did during the summer, and my back feels fine. As long as I'm not a lazy sonofabitch and actually exercise I should be alright.

Who's going to be the person who gets entry 900 in my guestbook? Will it be you?

MUSIC: The Beastie Boys - Stand Together


PREV : HOME : NEXT