Incandescent.
2005-09-09 : 1:07 a.m.

After watching The Blue Devils Finals performance for the first time the other night, I was left feeling, not so much angry but more or less disappointed. Disappointed in a few ways actually.

1. The beginning of the closer was horrible Finals Night (compared to Quarters and Semis) and it really was the worse part of our show. And damn DCI, ESPN2�, or whoever was responsible for showing just that part.

2. The amplification really was stupid. I don't know why I managed to convince myself otherwise during the season. Yes, the show wouldn't have made sense without it, but it was still stupid.

3. The announcer was a schmuck, and repeatedly informed the audience (at home) that our show was "backwards," meaning that a. He didn't get it at first and b. The audience (in the stands) didn't get it either.

But you know what? Fuck everyone, because I aged-out a Blue Devil. I aged-out with the greatest Drum and Bugle Corps the world has ever known. The eleven time World Champion, from Concord, California - The Blue Devils. And next year, when they...Well, let's just say rage will be the motivating factor in Concord.

I'm still contemplating going to banquet in November. After all, it'd be hard to top: Losing your luggage, paying too much for airfare, paying too much for a hotel, etc. But it'd be nice to see Wayne Downey again...So I can kick him in the teeth. Everyone would be completely shocked and appalled when I did it, but they would secretly worship me for doing something they only dream of. I'd be a legend at Blue Devils, forever. Maybe I should go to banquet...

Well whatever I decide to do, I'll still know I look damn good in blue, as well as Glen and Scott, the only other two guys from Indy, who happen to go to Ball State as well. Small world. Brittney and Adrianna are the two guard girls who also look good in...Well, you know.

p.s.
I'm still planning a whole "BD 05/Euro-Trip" entry, just be patient.

MUSIC: Pearl Jam - Porch


PREV : HOME : NEXT