I Robot Will Never Die.
2004-11-08 : 2:03 a.m.

As was expected, half the country awoke on November 3rd rather disgruntled over what will most likely be the closest election, ever. The outcome was the one I favored, leaving no guess as to who I voted for. And yes I voted, unlike the majority of individuals in my age group. I can honestly say I never felt more powerful. And if you in fact voted as well, I commend you. Also, if anyone tells you you didn't make a difference, they couldn't be more wrong, and are just that much more upset at themselves for not voting.

I've never been one to press my beliefs onto others, and I'm always up for questioning my own. But then again if I do that they're not really beliefs are they? But to say I don't have any wouldn't be correct either. But...let's escape from philosophy for just a little while more shall we? So like I said, I'm not the type of person who will criticize someone else for what they believe. I might disagree with it, and if need be I'll intervene if their belief causes harm to others, butI'll respect their right to believe whatever they want to.

I've got several friends who voted for both parties (as I'm sure many of you do as well). I have no problem with this, but many of my friends do. They find it incomprehensible that anyone would vote for "the other guy." There's such a lack of respect for their fellow American it's disgusting. I hope I never again have to see the country I love become so divided in my lifetime. How one election can breed such hatred is beyond me.

I knew what I was doing when I voted, and I knew what would happen if I voted for George Bush (not that I knew Bush would win for sure). To tell me I'm wrong or to tell me I don't know what I expect, I would take as a personal offense. I know the man I voted for. I don't necessarily agree with everything he says, but I agreed with what he had to offer more than I did John Kerry.

I must apologize, I'm defending my actions before I was even criticized for them. Yet another example of how personal we've all made this election. True, there's always going to be a disagreement among parties and the people, but never again one such as large or as voiced as this one.

I like asking people who they voted for. And my response is the same no matter what answer they give (as long as they took the time to vote). I tell simply say "ok." That's all, nothing more. I don't understand why so many people are hesitant to answer either. I assume it's because they think I'll critize their decision, which of course is not true. Say it loud, and say it proud. If need be defend your decision, or say you have no need to defend your decision, that's the beauty of America. You're still my friend, even if you voted for Michael Peroutka.

MUSIC: Coheed And Cambria - Three Evils (Embodied In Love And Shadow)


PREV : HOME : NEXT