The Return Of The Blue Devil.
2004-08-30 : 11:00 p.m.

It was May 14, 2004, and it would be the last time I would awake in my own bed for quite some time. There's really no point in telling you what I did, you all know, or should know by now. But in case you forgot, let me remind you. I was with the most winningest Drum & Bugle Corps in the history of the world, The Concord Blue Devils.

I marched, I played. I laughed, I cried. I played hard on the field, and I played even harder off the field. And I assure you it was one of the most memorable summers of my life. I went all the places you can see here. Some of them I had shows in, and others I just practiced in. My favorite place was definitely Centerville, OH and my least favorite place was definitely Troy, AL.

I made so many friends and met so many cool people this summer. My housemates and I were quite the collection of random people. Together we represented seven states and two countries. And our pad was always the place to hang out. I miss everyone (except for my seat partner - just kiddin' Sonia, you know I love you) and sometimes I even miss that damn bus. But, we did have the best buses out of any corps, courtesy of Mercedes Benz. Yeah, we rode in style.

Finals night we didn't have quite the finish we had been hoping to have all season. But frankly that was our own fault. We didn't have the best of shows on Quarterfinals night which put us in second, making it nearly impossible to get first on Finals. So unfortunately we found ourselves in second by .175 of a point, bummer. But we've got no one to blame but ourselves. Anyway, enough of that. I had fun. There were a few times in there when I didn't think having fun was possible anymore, but I did.

Tour of Champions was just what everyone expected it to be, the Tour of Bullshit, or as we at BD liked to call it Drunkenpalooza. That description of it was pretty much the general consensus for all the Corps' out there. We still threw down though, we fucking threw down hard for the people who came to see us in our own backyard.

So although the end result was not as nice as it could have been, this was still one of the greatest things I've ever experienced. I still can't believe it happened, but it did. And now I'm home with lots of stories to tell and many pictures to share (which will be up soon). School's already started which is never any fun but you do what you have to. I've got a new major so this will at least be a new kind of semester. I'm also living off campus for the first time so we'll see how that turns out as well.

Now, before I go I must share with you the first picture from the summer. Unfortunately it's not mine (yet), but here you go. Enjoy.

It's good to be back.

MUSIC: Benton Falls - This Housecall Could Kill



PREV : HOME : NEXT