Do It Right, And Do It Well.
2003-09-09 : 12:31 a.m.

So yes, the 2003 Glassmen season is officially over. What I don't understand though, is why so many people feel as though their time with the Glassmen is also over. Give what reason you will, but almost no one I have spoken to has said they will be returning to the corps next year.

It kind of puts me in an awkward position. Last year I almost made the mistake of going to another corps, which would definitely have been a mistake. This corps is what it is because people stay, and people come back. I can't tell you all you're making the wrong decision and try to convince you not to go, not after what I did last year anyway.

I can say my reason for leaving was different though. I just can't shake the feeling that everyone who's leaving is scared. Scared of what? I don't know. Maybe they do. I think overall though I'm just shocked at some of the names I was hearing. The same names which I know were upset with me last year for wanting to go somewhere else.

A good friend once told me, "Great things are going to happen with this corps, you have to have faith."

It's hard being the corps a lot of people hate. That's why you have to make them hate you even more and refuse to give up. Give them a big "FUCK YOU!" in the same way Dustin Lowes would. Yeah, remember Dustin Lowes?

"I realized something just now....how much I care. I hope someday I have a job where I can get up every morning and feel that way."

Anyways...

I shouldn't have fallen asleep holding your hand. And you shouldn't have fallen asleep holding mine. Now I can't stop thinking about you. What's worse is you're not thinking about me, and now it gets weird.

Sorry I have to break that level of understanding we both had after that talk. It was nice to know that someone else felt the same way. Now I have to be a jerk and wish for a little more.

Well it's getting late, and I should be going to bed. But before I do I want to leave all my Glassmen brothers and sisters with something. For those of you who weren't on 851 (and those of you who were and didn't hear it) there's a band I listen to that (unknowingly) came up with the perfect drum corps song. It was Katie's and mine personal bus song all summer. Enjoy.

Black coffee cup reflection.
I've seen this look in my eyes on other peoples faces that I said I never wanted to be like.
There's just too much to live for.
To sit around this room bored, wanting more, waiting for something to knock on my door.

Here's to new beginnings.
Here's to something more.
Here's to you and your dreams.
And everything you've worked so hard for.
Here's to all the places we've never been before.
Here's to summer tours and hardwood floors, to you and yours.

We wrote this song.
It's four chords long.
We hope you'll sing along.
So sing along.

Get up and believe it now.
Wake up.
Get up and believe it.

Here's to new beginnings.
Here's to something more.
Here's to you and your dreams.
And everything you've worked so hard for.
Here's to all the places we've never been before.
Here's to summer tours and hardwood floors, to you and yours.

To you and yours.
To you, and yours...

MUSIC: Brandtson - Ain't No Trip To Cleveland



PREV : HOME : NEXT