Jennifer Hackney Rules!
2003-04-15 : 9:57 p.m.

Today is a very special day, a very special day indeed.

Three hundred and sixty five days ago today I (officially) asked Caitlin Bell if she would be my girlfriend.

Sounds kind of silly when I say it like that. But I believe I said something along the lines of, "Caitlin will you be my girlfriend?" She could probably remember the exact words, she's better at that than I am.

And without a moments hesitation I can honestly say it has been one of, if not the best years of my life. Actually, you know what? It has been the best year of my life.

Wow. Did you know that she once thought I hated her? Honest. She told me this herself. I assure you I did not. But I was a different person then, and perhaps my attitude towards particular situations was perceived in the wrong way. That, or I really was jerk towards her, without realizing it. Whatever, I didn't hater her.

Also, she didn't even think I knew who she was. "So Caitlin, why aren't you in marching band?" Ha. Seriously, how could you miss Jerry Bell's daughter?

I must admit those first words came out a little unkind.

Then there was the summer of 2001 and the band and guard party at none-other-than Jerry Bell's house. Here's where I'd like to remind all of you that first impressions (real first impressions) are important, but not that important. Reason being this, about ten minutes into this party I manage to spill coke on Caitlin's shirt. Am I a stud or what?

Yeah, I felt like an ass.

Anyway, the main point of this story is to tell you guys that Caitlin was all over me, even after I had spilt her coke. Ok, only kidding, somewhat. I say she was all over me. But, according to other sources I'm told the "all-overness" was pretty mutual. Whatever. She was hot, nuff said.

I wasn't even aware I had might have feelings for this girl until someone very close to me asked.

There were of course some hesitations. An unfortunate incident between friends and, Umm, her father?

Honestly though, Jerry Bell (as I have come to know him better over the past year) is one of the most passionate men I know. And I would defend him to the death on anything. Not just because I am in love with his daughter either.

So yeah jump forward a couple months to the set of Grease. We all remember Grease don't we? Anywho, this girl (can you guess who?) is becoming increasingly attractive each and every day I see her. So, we start talking. Just talking mind you. Not about a relationship or anything, but just talking more than the usual "Hey Caitlin." or "What's up Steve?"

Then comes spring break, and afterwards, our very first "date." I suppose you could only call it a "date" because I paid for her. Now I would have done this for any girl being the gentleman I am, but I really really wanted to, one of those boyish "I'm impressive aren't I?" things I guess.

Then I worked my magic and a few weeks later we were making out on my bed and........Whoa there buddy! Yeah, didn't mean to get that ahead of myself.

Before all that we had the run-around, I'm not going to talk to you today (which she didn't like) thing a couple times at rehearsal. Why? I don't really know. I think it was because I was on such a good streak of actually sounding intelligent when I talked to her that I didn't want to ruin it. I'm an idiot.

Then came the making out.

Ha!

But technically I had yet to pop the big question. Then, on Monday April 15, 2002, one of everybody's favorite people in the world asked us if we were going out because of our apparent "closeness." Well "technically" we weren't so I asked her.

AND SHE SAID YES!!!

And my life has never been the same.

Despite all the fricken obstacles we've had (and Lordy! how there have been many) we've held on.

And whenever I return, I know she's here waiting for me.

Now here comes that time of year again, and off we go to play. She goes one way, and I go the other. How ironic that the one thing we both love so much keeps us away the longest.

I love her so very much. More than words can ever give justice to. There aren't words yet invented that could describe her beauty.

But if you must, she is the most beautiful person I know.

There isn't anything I wouldn't do for her, not a thing.

It's a very special thing when two human beings can feel for eachother the way we do. And I can say this because I know she feels the same way I do.

She has become the driving force behind everything I do. She is my reason for everything.

Happy Anniversary my love. You are and always will be the most important thing in my life.

Forever and always.

Last time I talked to you
You were lonely and out of place
You were looking down on me
Lost out in space

We laid underneath the stars
Strung out and feeling brave
I watched the red orange glow
I watched you fade away

Down here in the atmosphere
Garbage and city lights
You've gone to save your tired soul
You've gone to save our lives

I turned on the radio
To find you on satellite
I'm waiting for the sky to fall
I'm waiting for a sign

And all we are
Is oh so far

You're falling back to me
That star that I can see yeah
I know you're out there, somewhere out there
You're falling out of reach
Defying gravity yeah
I know you're out there, somewhere out there

Hope you remember me
When you're home sick and need a change
I miss your purple hair
I miss the way you taste
I know you'll come back some day
On a bed of nails I wait
I'm praying that you don't burn out or fade away

And all we are
Is oh so far

You're falling back to me
That star that I can see yeah
I know you're out there, somewhere out there
You're falling out of reach
Defying gravity yeah
I know you're out there, somewhere out there

You're falling back to me
The star that I can see
I know your out there, ohhh
Your falling out of reach
Defying gravity
I know you're out there, somewhere out there

Your falling back to me
The star that I can see yeah
I know your out there, somewhere out there
Your falling out of reach
Defying gravity yeah
I know you're out there, somewhere out there

You're falling back to me
I know, I know
You're falling out of reach ohhhhhh
I know...

When I go to sleep I know she's listening.

MUSIC:The Offspring - Amazed



PREV : HOME : NEXT