"For Generations To Come..."
2003-03-20 : 11:03 p.m.

Well, (and I really don't want to have to start out my diary entry with that) it would appear that everyone else has had their war entry. I do suppose it's my turn.

This could take a while...

Let me first tell you about my family. My grandfather (on my father's side) was a marine during WWII. My other grandfather was in the navy during The Korean War. My father went to the New York Military Academy, and was then in the army during The Vietnam War. My Uncle (on my mother's side) and my brother have both been in the navy. So, as you can see, my family has quite a history of serving in the armed forces.

Since I was old enough to understand just what it meant, I swore I'd do my part to serve my country when it called on me. If that meant dying for my country, so be it. I am a patriot. I belive the United States of America is, right or wrong, still the greatest country in the world.

When I see an American Flag on the ground, I pick it up. When I see an American Flag outside during the rain, I ask if it can be brought it. When the National Anthem is played I have one hand behind my back and another over my chest. When I say the Pledge of Allegiance I say it as loud as I can. When I see a burning American Flag, I cry.

Not everything America does is right. Not at all. But when American men and women are sent to fight for America, I think they deserve our support. What those men and women don't need is to come home to another Post-Vietnam America.

George Bush. What can I say about him that other people haven't already said? Did you know he is the first President to ever launch a preemptive strike? In other words, he's the first President to ever "Strike first." In all of history, the U.S. has always retaliated against an attack. This is my problem with what's going on.

The U.S. has always been better in my eye because it didn't partake in actions such as that. (Now I know the U.S. has participated in dozens of covert operations, how naive do you think I am?) What happened to being the "Police of the World?" Countries that are the first to burn the American Flag are also the first to Call on it for help. Anyways, to get back on subject...Bush should have waited until Saddam did do something. That's a horrible thing to say, I know, but it would have increased support for his actions 10-fold.

A war for oil? Perhaps...However, despite how greedy the American Public perceives George W. and his fat Texas relatives, I don't think he'd really be stupid enough to send American (as well as British and Australian) men and women to die for it.

I wouldn't be surprised if the United Nations gives Bush a swift kick in the ass though. U.N backing on this was also a very important element in gathering support for this war.

So on to my main point...

By not doing something to help my country, I personally believe I'm turning my back on it. I find myself torn between my call of duty and what I believe is right. I know one thing is for sure, and I mean this from the bottom of my heart. Had President Bush gotten the ok from the United Nations, and had Iraq struck first, I would have signed up, and would not have waited for the draft.

Each generation has it's war. This is ours. What will you tell your children and your grandchildren about this time in history? For those of you who hate the U.S. and all it stands for, you're still an American whether you like it or not. America still does more good than harm. I wouldn't mind if people were against some U.S. actions in order to make the U.S. a better place. However, most people who have a problem with U.S. policies fail to see the good in the U.S.

What have you done for your country lately?

May God watch over our men and women overseas, their families, and everyone else all over the world, both good and evil.

God Bless the United States.

Dulce Et Eecorum Est Pro Patria Mori...

MUSIC:



PREV : HOME : NEXT