Dialogue.
2003-03-05 : 12:24 a.m.

Something I'm not is easier said...

I can't remember who it was that warned against writing angry. Whoever it was, they were correct.

Earlier all I wanted to do was put in here how much I'm starting to absolutely loathe my instant messenger. For the past several days my AIM name has angered me to no end. It loads my buddy list one person at a time. It won't let me IM anyone until it does load. It takes forever to send and/or receive messages. It periodically tells me my buddy list is unavailable even though I can see it clear as day in front of me. And it (how it does this I do not know) sends the wrong messages to the wrong person.

I've tried switching to older names but it's like a disease. It slowly begins to affect my other names and they too eventually fall prey to this sickness. Trillian, it seems, may be a possible solution. We shall see.

Speaking of instant messenger, I've noticed another disease - as I would call it - infecting its way into how people hold conversations. Aside from the annoying acronyms I come across, i.e. WTF, OMG, TTYL, and the ever-so-popular, LOL, it would seem that people now insert gestures accompanied with either a * or :: before and after the verb or action. What is that all about? ::laughs his ass off:: Sure that's better than LMAO, but if you're going to take the time to write that much, why not just write the whole thing? ::gives you a big hug:: Now how the fuck are you supposed to do that? Reach through several miles of optic fibering and literally grasp the person on the receiving end of that so called hug?

Well why not just use that form of communication all the time? Now I'm sure that would make for an enjoyable conversation.

Scubas311: Yeah, I know exactly what you're talking about. ::nods head::

IMFriend: Good! LOL! I'm glad to know somebody does.

Scubas311: ::nods head:: Uh-hu. ::scratches ass:: ::types to other friend:: ::resumes typing to you:: I'll be right back.

Scubas311: ::puts up away message:: ::gets out of chair:: ::walks to fridge:: ::makes sandwhich:: ::eats:: ::drinks milk:: ::walks to bathroom:: ::does business:: ::washes hands:: ::dries hands:: ::scratches ass (again):: ::walks back to room:: ::sits in chair:: ::begins to type:: Ok, I'm back.

IMFriend: That took forever! LOL!

Scubas311: ::turns on tv:: ::ignores instant messenger:: ::..............::

MUSIC: Sunny Day Real Estate - One



PREV : HOME : NEXT