Charles Edward Haberman II I Salute You!
2003-03-01 : 12:21 a.m.

Today is not just any ordinary day. Today is my friend Charles Edward Haberman the Second's day, sort of. You see, most unfortunately, our friend Charles was born on February 29, 1984. And as most of us know, that day seldom comes around. Once every four years to be exact...

This entry shall be devoted to life (well, the part of it I've been in) of Chuck.

I first met Chuck the second or third day of school my freshman year during marching band rehearsal. Due to our common bond for the love of Star Wars (a theme most common amongst band geeks) we quickly fell in love. Wait, I mean we quickly became friends.

Our Sophomore year of high school brought more stories to tell. I'm old and senile and can't remember them though.

Our Junior year...well, same thing.

Now our Senior year. Ah yes, when we finally got credit for carrying the entire low brass, if not band. If you don't like that, then it's time to face facts friend. Then there was the horrible crash before prom...Losing Chuck in that accident would have been like losing a brother. Not really something I want to think about though. It was also the year that we both met the loves of our lives. But most importantly, I think it was the year we both figured out what it is we want.

I think it's been the time spent together after high school which've really brought us together the most though. We're still crazy idiots and act like we're ten years old, but that's the best part. Why? Because fucking shit up is cool no matter what age you are.

Yes through the years we have become great allies. Mess with either of us, and we'll A. Saw you in half B. Make you eat out of our butts C. DESTROY YOU! or D. All of the above.

We've had our ups and downs, fits and squabbles, whatever. Yet through it all we've stuck together. Because in the end, we're guys, not stupid petty girls, and frankly, we don't give a shit.

So to my friend Chuck, I say Happy Birthday.

Godspeed and Godbless in whatever may come.

MUSIC: The Juliana Theory - In Conversation



PREV : HOME : NEXT