A Lesson In Ecology.
2003-01-14 : 11:06 p.m.

It's been what, a day?

As I walked out of the TC building today a piece of paper blew past me due to the blustery wind (thank you Whinnie the Pooh). Had this piece of paper been a foot closer to me I would have stopped it with my foot and picked it up. However, due to the severe cold and my laziness I opted not to fetch the paper and pick it up.

Had I picked it up, it would have meant that I would spend mauybe, another 5 seconds in the cold?

I've thought about this a lot since it happened. Someone else is going to see this peice of paper and do the exact same thing. Eventually it'll become an undistinguishable peice of garbage in the street. People will wonder how it got there. They'll wonder why someone would just litter like that. They'll be disguisted that people put their trash anywhere they please. But they won't pick it up.

Trivial I suppose. But maybe not. If the same situation were played out a thousand times, a thousand pieces of paper would not be picked up.

I'm not one you would call an environmentalist, by any means, but we only get one Earth.

Enough of this.

MUSIC: Up In Arms - Everyday Outside



PREV : HOME : NEXT