Promote Yourself People!
2003-01-13 : 2:12 p.m.

Comrade Joseph has done it again! So-to-speak...

I took the liberty of going back and reading several of his older entries and was once again enthralled (that can also mean enslaved, but that's not the definition we want here) by the immediacy he gives to all things worth scrutinizing on Diaryland. And believe me, they are worth scrutinizing.

With that said, I give you Interview. In Joseph's words:

"For the people who think getting your diary reviewed is a really fantastic idea and validating to your online presence: a website that actually finds a way to balloon your already amazingly over-inflated ego to cosmic proportions."

One of the most reprehensible of these diaries was Protoplasm. Since when is it trendy to be bisexual? Anyone? And an amateur existentialist...? Just what the hell is an amateur existentialist? Ok, I can't tell why I'm here or what I really am, but I know I'm sometimes a lesbian!

I hate to have to use this diary as an example due to the obvious gay-bashing sentiment somebody is going to get from reading this, and that will be the only thing they get. But that's not where I'm going. So, ehem, "Dont godere!" (Yes one word)

Anyways, what was I saying. Oh yeah, for the most part those seeking recognition for their beautiful works of art, (crappy photoshop detailing, ugly font, half the page being diaryrings etc...) to you I say...Hell, Joseph can say it better than I or anyone else ever could...

"Is it radical to see this as entirely over-indulgent? Unnecessary? We're diarists - and the last time I checked, we weren't writing for vehemently bad review sites to pick apart our already-spread-Nutella-thin lives and we weren't making celebrities out of ourselves. You're submitting yourself to a ridiculous charade! Wait, what's this? Four words! Okay - sounds like, yes, what's that? Fucking ridiculous ego-stroking!"

And pickles most definitly make the sandwich, right after black olives.

MUSIC: The Juliana Theory - We're Nothing Without You



PREV : HOME : NEXT